Location Services
With Relution it is possible to configure location services for Android Enterprise devices. The administrator can specify the location services of the device and location permissions for individual apps or leave it to the user.
Location services
Via the Location mode → configuration, administrators use the Location setting on the device field to specify whether users can turn location services on or off. To do this, the field must be set to User choice. If no configuration is given, User choice is the default.
If location services are disabled, apps will not be able to locate the device, regardless of what permissions have been assigned. This affects all apps, including Google Maps or Waze, for example.
- The Enable location setting on the device option enables the location setting on the device. As of Android 11, work profiles on company-owned devices cannot directly enforce location services; in this case, the user must enable location services manually in the device settings.
- The Disabled option deactivates and prohibits changes to the location setting.
Default app permissions
Whether the Relution Agent and Companion Apps get the permission to locate depends on what is set under Portal → Settings → Device Management → Enrollment in the Locate device row. If here the tracking is disabled for COD both apps will not get permission to track.
Individual app permissions
This default can additionally be overridden individually by adding an app to the Manage apps configuration. If Agent and/or Companion is added here, the app permissions can be set individually. For example, the user can be given the right to set all permissions of the app.
Without permission for the Agent, for example, policy assignment depending on geofences and iBeacons cannot be used. Without permission for the Companion, the Locate device action cannot be used.
The default response for permission requests is set as follows:
Portal → the AE Policy → Manage apps → Relution Companion for AE (add if not present) → Permission
A popup will open here with the item Default response for permission requests.