Add devices to DEP

Originally, only Apple devices purchased directly from Apple or from trusted resellers could be added to Apple School/Business Manager. If devices were purchased from other sources, they could not be automatically enrolled in Relution via Automated Device Enrollment (ADE, DEP in the portal).


iOS / tvOS devices via Apple Configurator 2

Apple now allows iOS and tvOS devices to be added manually to Apple School/Business Manager using the Apple Configurator. This provides all the benefits of automatic enrollment via ADE, regardless of where the devices were purchased. Add Apple devices to DEP at a later date →


macOS devices via Apple Configurator (mobile)

With the Apple Configurator for mobile devices (iOS/iPadOS), Apple has provided an easy way to add macOS devices to the Apple School/ Business Manager. Apple Configurator Manual →
Apple Configurator App →

Instructions

  1. Apple Configurator is installed on an iOS/iPadOS device with at least iOS 16.
  2. On this device, Apple Configurator is signed in with a valid Apple School/Business Manager account.
  3. The macOS device is started, and the Setup Assistant is paused as soon as the Country or Region screen is displayed.
  4. The iOS/iPadOS device is held close to the Mac; on the Mac, Manually Pair is clicked in the bottom left of the Setup Assistant.
  5. The 6-digit number combination is entered on the iOS/iPadOS device.
  6. Once the macOS device is finished with the process, it will offer a restart or shutdown.
  7. In Apple School/Business Manager, the device is assigned to a location.
  8. In Relution, under Devices → Auto Enrollments, the synchronization is triggered via Sync devices (without a manual trigger, it runs automatically once a day). If a DEP profile is marked with Use as default profile, it is automatically assigned to devices without a profile during synchronization; otherwise, the device is selected and a DEP profile is assigned via Set profile.
  9. The usual Apple welcome setup is completed on the device.

DEP profiles are created under Devices → Profiles, see Profile for ADE →.

Note on the Status in Auto Enrollments

  • Blue - Profile assigned - A DEP profile has been assigned to the device but has not been applied yet.
    • This can occur when the profile is changed for already enrolled devices or for devices that have not yet completed the setup.
  • Green - Profile pushed - The profile has been applied and reported back as executed by the device.
  • Red - Profile removed - The profile has been removed from the device.
  • Grey - No Profile - No DEP profile is assigned to the device or an assigned profile has been deleted.
  • Grey - Unknown Profile - Apple has reported a profile status that Relution cannot map.

Remove devices

Often there are devices that are owned by end users and were added to ADE for educational purposes, for example, but are later to be returned to private use. In this case, the devices must be properly removed from the MDM and from ADE to ensure problem-free continued use.

The following order must be observed:

  1. The data is backed up.
  2. In Apple School/Business Manager, the device is released from the organization or unassigned from the Relution MDM server.
  3. Only then is the device reset, either by the user or in Relution via the Wipe device action.

Backing up the data

The easiest way to back up user data between reset and new setup is to use Apple iCloud with a private Apple Account. To do this, it must be ensured that the option Allow Account modification is enabled in the Restrictions configuration in Relution and has been applied to the device. The option is enabled by default; action is only required if an assigned restriction disables it. This allows the user to log in to the device with a private Apple Account and perform the desired data backup.

Removal from the Apple School / Business Manager

The release or unassignment can easily be carried out in the Apple ASM/ABM portal without having any immediate effect on the device. Only at the next complete reset to factory settings does the device receive the current assignment from Apple and is no longer enrolled automatically. In Relution, the auto enrollment is removed during the next synchronization once Apple reports the device as removed. The synchronization runs automatically once a day or immediately via Sync devices under Devices → Auto Enrollments.

Removal from the MDM

In Relution, the option Enable ‘Erase All Content and Settings’ should be enabled in the Restrictions configuration (enabled by default). This way the user can reset the device after the backup. Reporting back to the Relution administrator is advisable, as a previously disconnected Wi-Fi network on the device may prevent communication with the MDM, in which case no information about the status of the device is available. Alternatively, the Wipe device action can be triggered in Relution, which will move the device to the trash and update the device information accordingly.

Top