Move device to organization
Enrolled devices can be moved from a source organization to a target organization. During that process the user and organization specific device data will be adapted or removed.
Prerequisites
- At least Relution version
5.23.0 - The functionality is only available in the store organization
- The executing user’s role must include the permissions Inventory (Update) and, as of Relution 26.5.5, additionally System-wide inventory (Read) under
Devices. System-wide inventory can only be granted in roles of the store organization; the default roles Administrator and Device Manager include both permissions, custom roles may need to be extended. - The target organization has a valid device license that is not exceeded. Devices whose serial number is claimed to a lifetime license → are exempt.
- Apple devices: The target organization uses the same APNs certificate the device is enrolled with. This can also be a certificate inherited from the parent organization.
- Supported platforms
- Android Legacy
- Apple (iOS, iPadOS, macOS, tvOS)
- Interactive Whiteboards
- Windows
If a prerequisite is not met for a device, this device is not moved, while the other selected devices are.
Adaption of device data
User and organization specific data cannot be moved to another organization. Therefore, the corresponding data is either removed from the device or it is adapted for the target organization.
Unfinished actions of the device are canceled before the device is moved.
The following data is always removed:
- All actions of the device
- All assigned rulesets
- The assigned user
- All issued education certificates
The following data is removed if it belongs to the source organization:
- Issued device certificates
- Information for the device lending functionality
- Assigned zones
- Assigned iBeacons
The corresponding data of the store organization is retained. If a device is moved out of the store organization, this data is therefore retained completely.
Further adaptions for the device are described in the following sections.
Adaptions for all platforms
Device groups
- The device is removed from static and dynamic local device groups of the source organization.
- If a device leaves a device group the applied policies are removed.
- The device will be automatically added to the matching dynamic local device groups of the target organization.
- If a device enters a device group the corresponding policies are applied.
- The device is not removed from public device groups.
Device history
- The history of the device is completely removed.
- Additionally a new device history is created for the successful moving into the target organization.
Enrollment
- Single enrollments are moved to the target organization.
- For Multi enrollments, there will be a new unusable single enrollment created in the target organization.
- Additionally the referenced user, rulesets, policies and notifications are removed from the device.
- An assignment to an automatic enrollment, e.g. via Automated Device Enrollment (ADE, DEP in the portal), is only retained if it originates from the store organization.
Adaptions for Windows
- The history of local scripts of the source organization is removed from the device. The history of public scripts and of scripts from the meta organization is retained.
Adaptions for Apple
- Apps and Books (VPP in the portal) licenses that belong to a VPP token of the source organization (local VPP token) are removed from the device.
- Licenses that belong to a VPP token of the store organization are moved into the target organization.
- Licenses that belong to a VPP token of a meta organization → are moved into the target organization if the source and target organization belong to the same meta organization. Otherwise, they are removed from the device.
- Managed Media is not removed from the device and will be visible in the target organization.
- Except when the Managed Media has been applied by a configuration and the device leaves the corresponding device group.
- Managed Media from the source organization can be removed from the device in the target organization.
- The supervision certificate cannot be moved to the target organization. The certificate can only be downloaded from the moved device if the Security informations permission (Read) under
Devices→Detailsexists both in the target organization and in the organization the certificate belongs to (usually the source organization). As of Relution 26.5.5, the permission to read devices is no longer sufficient for this.
Process
In the device inventory of the store organization one or more devices can be moved into a target organization.
First the devices must be selected. After that the 3-dot-menu entry Move to can be clicked. For a single device, the entry is also available in the 3-dot menu of the respective device row. The entry is not available if the selection contains deleted devices, devices with the status WITHDRAWN or devices of an unsupported platform.
In the dialog the target organization must be selected. In general, devices can be moved to all organizations except the store organization, the system organization, meta organizations and the source organization. Meta organizations are shown for selection, but moving devices there is rejected and the devices remain in their previous organization. If only devices from one source organization are selected, this organization is not shown in the dialog. If devices from several organizations have been selected, all those organizations can be chosen as target organization. But selected devices that belong already to the target organization will not be considered.
The second step of the dialog contains an information box with hints for the possible consequences and a link to the documentation.
After confirmation the selected devices will be moved to the target organization. Each device is moved individually. If a device cannot be moved, it remains in its previous organization, e.g. if the target organization has no free device license or, for Apple devices, the APNs certificate of the target organization does not match that of the source organization. The portal does not display an error message in this case. The result should therefore be checked in the Organization column of the device inventory.