Windows Shared PC

With the Windows Shared PC policy configuration, Relution makes it possible to use Windows 10/11 devices across users. To ensure privacy-compliant use at all times and to ensure the deletion of user-specific data on the devices, Shared PC allows various data-related settings and restrictions.

This feature is particularly useful in school, education and research contexts, as well as for public institutions and companies that want to use shared PCs in a privacy-compliant manner at all times without each user needing their own computer.

The configuration is applied to Windows 10/11 Pro, Enterprise and Education. Windows Home is not supported.


How to configure the Windows Shared PC policy configuration?

To successfully run Shared PC on a Windows device, a new policy is first added under the Devices → Policies menu item.

Once the policy is created, the Shared PC configuration can be selected and added to the policy. Alternatively, existing policies can be supplemented with the Shared PC configuration.

The following settings can be made in the configuration:

  • Allow only a single user to be signed in at a time: This switch enables the Shared PC mode of the device and is enabled by default. If it is disabled, Shared PC mode is turned off on the device.
  • Accounts that can sign in: Determines whether only domain accounts (Domain) or additionally password-less guest accounts (Guest and Domain, default) can sign in to the devices. After signing out of guest mode, all temporary data is always deleted automatically.
  • Automatically delete Accounts after maintenance or sign off: If enabled, Windows deletes cached accounts to free up disk space (disabled by default). Specify when Accounts are deleted offers the following options:
    • Delete immediately: Accounts are deleted when the user signs out.
    • Delete at disk space threshold: Accounts are deleted as soon as free disk space drops below the value in Start deletion of accounts when free diskspace is below. Deletion stops once the value in Stop deletion of accounts when free diskspace is above is reached. Both values are specified as percentages (0–100, default 25). Accounts that have been inactive the longest are deleted first.
    • Delete at disk space or inactivity threshold (default): As above; in addition, accounts are deleted after the number of inactive days specified in Inactive days after the Account is deleted (default 30).
  • Restrict access to local storage: When this setting is enabled, the user only has access to their own data (disabled by default).
  • Enable Education environment: Online searches can be severely restricted and completely blocked for certain websites (disabled by default).
  • Require sign in when waking up from sleep mode: If the device is put into sleep mode while a user is signed in, signing in again is required. The setting is enabled by default.
  • Go into sleep mode after specified amount of time: To save the battery, the field Seconds after which the device goes into sleep mode defines after which time the device switches to sleep mode (enabled by default, 300 seconds).
  • Time of day at which Maintenance starts: Time of day at which the daily Windows maintenance window starts (default: 00:00). During this window, Windows performs maintenance tasks, e.g. deleting accounts according to the configured deletion option.
Top